+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How to choose the right propeller for your new Carolina Skiff.

Thanks

Default How to choose the right propeller for your new Carolina Skiff.

How to choose the right propeller for your new Carolina Skiff.
    By Bob Reeves

Let me start out by saying that this guide will be a combination of material and links that I have found useful and my own personal experience. I am NOT a propeller expert, and welcome other's input into this FAQ.

Choosing the right prop for your skiff may be one of the most important things that you can do to improve performance and maximize efficiency and fuel economy. Unfortunately, choosing the right prop is as much an art as a science. No two skiffs are configured exactly the same, so the right prop for your buddy's skiff may not be the right prop for your skiff, even though they are the exact same model, year, and engine.

First, some definitions:

Zero trim - this is when the propeller shaft is parallel with the main portion of the bottom of your hull. As the anti-venilation plate (frequently mistakenly called the anti-cavitation plate) is parallel with the propeller shaft, an easy way to measure zero trim angle is with your rig on the trailer, use a simple level to level the boat by adjusting the tongue jack, then place the level on the anti-ventilation plate and tilt the motor until it is level. If you are lucky to have an adjustable trim gauge (I do not) then set this point for zero. Some motors will allow negative trim - tucking the bottom of the motor in further than zero degrees

What the numbers on the prop mean. If your prop is a 10 x 11, it is 10" in diameter with an 11" pitch. In theory, it will move the boat 11" for every revolution of the propeller. So if you want to go faster, just increase pitch, right? Wrong - it's a little more complicated than that as we will go into shortly.

In general the prop pitch has more effect on propeller performance than diameter.