+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Minn Kota Talon vs. Power Pole?

Thanks

Default Minn Kota Talon vs. Power Pole?

Guys...I'm wanting a shallow water anchorage for a new 23' Ultra Elite. While I like the inexpensive, homemade solutions I've seen here, I'm not ready to drill holes in a new boat!

Has anyone used either the MinnKota Talon or Power Pole systems? If so, is there a recommendation? Both anchorages are close enough in price point.

Thanks

Thanks

I've got the 8' Talon on my DLX - got in on my new boat back in December so I've been using it since. Unfotunately I have no experience with the powerpole so I can't compare.

It is very rapid to deploy and I have never had it come loose - the wave action feature works great. In rougher water/current, you can use the rough water mode to make it deploy even harder, but I've never had to use it.

Really like having the two remotes. I mounted one on my console and always wear the other around my neck. Great for solo fishing - catch a fish and go ahead and rapidly deploy the anchor. Also great for docking - especially solo and when you're in a hurry like getting fuel.

The down-side to this anchor is it gets stuck in thick mud - the black stuff that steals your shoes here on the NC coast. It deploys very deep into that stuff and even when rocking back and forth with trolling motor/big motor, I have had to manually pull the anchor up using a socket wrench. This happens fairly commonly for me and is my biggest complaint - the motor needs a bit more juice IMO. Also, you need to do a really good job of rinsing it via the rinse port when you're done using it. If not, mud/salt/sand gets in there and can seize it up to the point that it won't deploy until multiple attempts or a flushing (again, another sign of not enough motor).

Finally, I'd get one of the factory mounting brackets if possible. My installer just stacked up starboard to get the right thickness away from the transom and it looks like crap.

talon2.jpgtalon1.jpg